Nationals from certain non-EU countries who wish to visit, transit through or work in Luxembourg must, before their departure, have a valid travel document with a visa issued by a consular authority from one of the countries in the Schengen area.

The visa enables free movement in the Schengen area: Germany, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Norway, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden and Switzerland.

The nationality of the non-EU national determines whether or not he is obliged to have a visa. Different types of visa exist depending on the duration and nature of the visit.

As a general rule, the visa application must be submitted in the country in which the applicant legally resides, at a Luxembourg consulate or a diplomatic mission representing Luxembourg. Should there be no Luxembourg consulate in that country and should Luxembourg not be represented there, the application must be submitted at the consulate with territorial competence for visa applications.

The visa application and attached documents must be translated by a sworn translator if they are not drawn up in German, French or English.


Share this page